Praying in college

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
Selam everyone,

I'm a freshman in college and was wondering where I should pray?
Idk where to pray since I now have a roommate. Do i pray with her in the room or what?

Please share your advice, Thanks and May God bless you all.

Comments

• But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. mat 6;6 You don’t want to pray in front of her because it possible you will feel pride. But also if she sees you pray she can be moved towards God more. So cost, benefit.
  • hopefully she goes to the bathroom to wash every day.
    try to do your main praying then, so you feel free to prostrate or cry or whatever, but also pray and read the Bible when she is there sometimes (quietly and respecting whatever she is doing too).
  • Hi Thanks be to God Always,

What a coincidence! I'm a freshman too, and I had the same EXACT question when I started 2/3 weeks ago.
    I asked my father of confession, and he said to me that we shouldn't be ashamed to pray in front of anyone (not in a prideful manner, of course, but out of necessity because we ourselves need the spiritual support and nourishment).
    I was really hesitant to do this, since I've never been in this kind of situation, but I just casually told my roommate "hey, I gotta say my prayers before I sleep, so don't mind me, I'm just gonna do my thing" (I tried to sound as casual as possible so it's not awkward and so she knows what's going on when I suddenly stand very still with a small white book in my hands :P) So she just said ok cool, and sat there on her laptop and I prayed! Done.
    Now I do it every night and it's totally fine since she's knows what I'm doing and it's all good!

Also, as markmarcos said, she might wonder what you're doing, ask, and then be encouraged to join you...you never know!