Why Barabaus?

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
I have been writing a book on Christianity for many years now. You would be glad to know that the aim of the book is to prove to anybody that has any doubts about our faith that Christ is the son of God and that also the Bible is the most perfect story in evry way.
Personally, this has made me closer to God to the extent that I am conteplating a career in the church - its all in God's hands now.
However, I am writing because I would like to know people's view, opions etc... on many issues. These issues seem clear to me in many ways, but as I am sure that I do not know it all, I would ask your help in this question (AND MANY MORE IN THE FUTURE). The question being (and they are all "why" questions):

Why did God choose Barabaus to stand aganist Chirst?
(I am refering to the moment in time when the crowed had to choose between Jesus or Barabaus.)
Why Barabaus not any other crook?

Please let me have your thoughts on the matter. I will reveil my reasons at a later date but I do not want to influence your thoughts for I am interested in your views which may well be different to mine.

Comments

• Well I dont really think God specifically chose Barabus, for any particular reason. But God had this whole plan figured out, because he said the wages of sin is death- instead of condeming us all to hell, since we are all sinners - he decided to show mercy and He sacrificed his own son to give us a chance to live. Jesus- being without sin- was perfect for the "job". So if the crowds were to choose Jesus to free, as oppose to Barabus then no sacrifice would have been made, inoccent ppl would have remained in hades, and we would all go straight to hell.

The whole point to GOD - the ALMIGHTY- to stoop down to our level and take HUMAN form was to grant salvation to man kind, and if they were to free him, then prophecies would not have been fulfilled and we wouldnt be saved.