Can I Take Holy Communion?

Can I take Holy Communion if I have cold sore on my lips? I apologize for this silly question but I am new to Coptic Orthodox Church and I recently faced this dilemma.

Cold sore is very contagious and I was afraid to take the Holy Communion so that other people would not feel disgusted with drinking blood after me.

God Bless You.

Comments

• The Holy Communion is the true Body and true Blood of Jesus Christ our God and our Saviour. Somebody mentioned that we are encouraged, especially when we have an illness, to take communion. It is no problem if you partake in the Holy Communion. Do not worry because even the strongest of diseases can not even touch the pure Body and Blood of Christ because it purifies those who partake of it. Welcome to the Coptic Orthodox Church. May you grow spiritually with God.

Please pray for me always,
    Believer in God
  • Believer in God is correct. No disease, however contagious, can overcome the lifegiving Body and Blood of Christ.

However, if you feel that you are making others uncomfortable, you could just stand at the back of the line and receive the Blood of Christ after all the others have.
  • i agree with u orthodox11
  • Yep, Our Lord Christ's body can't be touched by any disease
  • I agree with all of you guys, but if you are worried about what other people might say, ask abouna to give you communion privately... Abounas do that alot of times when someone is sick....

BUT remember to pray for me :)
    and welcome aboard!!
  • No matter what kind of sickness you have, you dont ever have to think once about taking communion.

Think about, wit all of the different people using the same spoon, not once did anyone ever get sick from the holy body and blood of jesus christ.
  • I agree with what everone is saying but if you still feel uncomfotable than you can ask the priest to dip the body of christ in to the bloodof christ so that way you will be relaxed