Apostles Fast

edited December 1969 in Coptic Orthodox Church
Hey guys hope your all exxcited for PENTECOST!!! ;D

So I was just wondering, Why do we fast the apostles fast? and why does it vary in length every year?

Comments

• The length of the fast varies from year to year, because the date of the Resurrection changes. The apostles feast is a set date(12th of July) so if Pentecost comes early then we fast until then. The apostles fast if I am not mistaken is actually the oldest fast, because Christ said, "You cannot fast while the bridegroom is with you" so the apostles never fasted while Christ was with them, but after He ascended they would fast. I'm no expert on this subject, just a few things I have heard.
  • Where did the idea of that the fast is only for Abouna and his wife come from?
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • [quote author=DimyanCoptic link=topic=9265.msg114704#msg114704 date=1274646328]
    I actually just learned that today (the varying part) :D

I apologize for not giving a well put together answer, but i remember that in the bible He says somewhere "I am with you, so do not fast, but when i leave to my father, you shall fast" or something pertaining to that.

Pray for me.

Is that the Bridegrroom quote you mean Dimyan?
    Mark 2:18-20
    2:18 Now John’s disciples and the Pharisees were fasting. So they came to Jesus and said, “Why do the disciples of John and the disciples of the Pharisees fast, but your disciples don’t fast?” 2:19  Jesus said to them, “The wedding guests cannot fast while the bridegroom is with them, can they? As long as they have the bridegroom with them they do not fast. 2:20 But the days are coming when the bridegroom will be taken from them, and at that time they will fast.

So after Christ asceds into Heaven we fast again, after 50 days without it.
  • hi all, hope u also had a great feast of pentecost, and may the blessings of the fast be with you. i think that is the right quote, danie m.