getting the youth involved

edited December 1969 in Random Issues
Hello everyone this is my first time posting. My question was how can we get the youth at our church to be more involved in tasbeha. I went them to grow to love tasbeha.

Pray for me

Comments

• Speak their language. I am a youth and I've noticed in a lot of the Coptic churches it's hard for them to get the youth involved. Maybe start teaching it to them as if it's a lecture, i.e. with power points and stuff? Incorporating history, other political factors of the time, etc...
    That's what really got me into it was when I took a religious studies classes in uni, and someone mentioned "if only they taught youth group like this".
  • My suggestion is to tasbeha fully in english. Some of the youth can get really frustrated when

A) They dont know what they are saying in Coptic
    B) They can't read Coptic all together and are just standing for hours saying nothing

The English Midnight Psalmody for the Coptic monastery in CA is a great way to learn tasbeha in english.
    http://tasbeha.org/mp3/Praises/Midnight_Praises/St_Anthony_Monastery,_English_Midnight_Praises.html

For those who think tasbeha is prettier in coptic, well, your not in tasbeha to please yourself. You are there to praise God and receive the blessing of joining in the praises. What is the point of doing tasbeha in coptic if only 1/3 of the people there can even read it and can't follow along? God would much rather be pleased if everyone was involved and it was sung in english. I guarantee, if it is done in english, this will raise the attendance by at least 50% if not more.

PK

• I agree with PopeKirollos on this one. No doubt youth are frustrated with Coptic. God bless you Popekirollos, you hit this one right on the spot.