Starting Over...

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
Hello,

I am a divorced, 27 year old woman trying to put my life back together. I am currently a student in grad school now. I was married for 3 years to somone outside my culture. I myself am mixed. My Father was Coptic Egyptian and passed away when I was an infant and my Mom is Catholic Caribbean.

I was raised by my Mom and have been devoutly Catholic my whole life, however I feel that my there are parts of the faith that have not fully supportive, particularly now, as I feel my life is falling apart.  My ex-husband was not religious, to the point we had to get married in an Episcopal church. I tried to get him to join me in my faith, but it was a 3 year struggle, along with several other aspects of our marriage. After our marriage, during grad school, I have gone in the deep end. I have been dating unsucessfully and certainly not within the moral boudaries of my faith.

I need help in getting my life back on track.  I want to change. Even before I was married, I can't say that I had the best moral relationship habits as I have wanted so desperately to fit in with the American culture and also have an additction to always needing a boyfriend. Even after a consistent habit of confession, and then relapsing again, now I can see how wrong I was and I'm so ashamed and angry at myself.

How do I fix myself? Where do I even start?

Comments

• Prayer is the gate to heaven, pray fervently and unceasingly for god to guide you
    One of the fathers of the church said that whoever thinks he can repent without praying is deceived by the devil. The first and most important step is to pray and let god guide you to his heavenly glory
  • [quote author=I am all yours Lord link=topic=8022.msg103341#msg103341 date=1242807406]
    Prayer is the gate to heaven, pray fervently and unceasingly for god to guide you