What is a Coptic Church (structurally/spatially speaking)?

edited December 1969 in Non-Orthodox Inquiries
Hi everyone!

I am a non-Copt graduate student in Architectural History, researching a thesis on Coptic Churches in the United States.

Right now, I seem to be focused on the creation of meaning in a physical space. Raised catholic, there was no shortage of other catholics and, subsequently, dedicated spaces to which we all went for service which were conceived and executed specifically to function as Catholic Church. But in beginning my research I've found that the same is not necessarily true for Copts in the US. There are churches purpose-built to be Coptic, churches housed in buildings that had previously functioned as other non-Orthodox churches, and churches that meet in chapels of presently non-Orthodox churches, to recite just a few of the configurations of which I'm sure you're all well aware.

My question, for any who wouldn't mind sharing, is thus: Besides the community that comes together within the space, what makes a Coptic Church a Coptic Church? In my introduction thread, several members were kind enough to supply me with excellent links about the history of Coptic architecture, but what I'm looking for now is something perhaps more ephemeral. Is it a division of space, or strictly architectural? Does it have to do with a temporary transformation (physical or spiritual) of a so-called "borrowed" or "repurposed" building? If so, what effects or assists that transformation? Is it something else entirely? Can it even really be described?

I imagine that the answer will depend on the answerer.  :)