Apostle's Fast

edited December 1969 in Coptic Orthodox Church
How long is Apostle's Fast this year? When does it start/end? What happens the day after it is over? Can we eat fish?
Thank you!!

Comments

• yea!!!!!
    apostles' fast!
    :)

the last fasting day is 11th july; 12th july is the apostles' feast.
    we can eat fish every day except wednesdays and fridays.
    we abstain from meat (except fish), eggs and dairy products.
    those who can, abstain from eating and drinking till around noon, longer (around 3 pm) on wednesdays and fridays.

many people do not abstain this much (myself included!) and it depends on the guidance of yr spiritual father. if u are under 16 or if u have not been in the habit of fasting regularly, a gradual start is advised.
    eg. i became orthodox a few years ago during saint mary's fast, but at that time was only abstaining from meat (not fish) and eating breakfast early in the morning. by then i had been fasting on and off for a few years, but had not quite got the hang of it.

on the apostles' feast, we commemorate the martyrdom of saints peter and paul and celebrate the sacrificial life the apostles lived so that we could have the good news of Jesus Christ handed down to us. those of us who are not working can go to liturgy and we can eat all foods.
    like any feast, eating until u feel sick is not recommended!
    ;)

during the fast, it is good to read the book of acts (if u read 1 chapter a day, u can read it and a few chapters of romans before the end of the fast) and pray for God to give u opportunities and the wisdom to share your faith.
    may God grant us a peaceful and spiritual fast, and may He also provide a wise and strong, kind shepherd for His coptic church.
    :)
  • sorry, i forgot to say, we don't abstain from eating and drinking in the morning on saturdays and sundays (unless we are taking Holy Communion).
  • [quote author=mabsoota link=topic=13362.msg156344#msg156344 date=1338805471]