What is Neknai O Panoti real hymn???

edited December 1969 in Hymns Discussion
Ibrahim Ayad says Neknai O Panoti in a complety different way then the institute of Higher Coptic studies. Which way is correct? Or are they both right??

Athanaisus

Comments

• The institute records the morning doxology version. Ibrahim's is right...
  • i don't mean to interrupt here but there is a section called hymns discussion and i think that is where you guys want to post that
    don't worry i was a newbie once too ;)
  • How sweet Wasim...lol

sleepy
  • I think both are right.
  • i don't think it matters how it's they sing it, but they when i heard it they didn't sing the whole thing. :-[
  • One is the tune for the Watos days and the other is the tune for the Adam days.

The way Abe records it here:

http://tasbeha.org/media/index.php?s=Praises/Midnight_Praises/Ibrahim_Ayad,_Coptic_Midnight_Praises/Part_5/track6.mp3

is the Adam Tune.
    [hr]
    The way he record is here:

http://tasbeha.org/media/index.php?s=Praises/Midnight_Praises/Ibrahim_Ayad,_Coptic_Midnight_Praises/Part_6/track2.mp3

is the watos tune.
    [hr]

Sunday is an Adam night, therefore, the tune Abe uses in the first link is the correct tune for Nek nai o panoti for that night.

Adam Days: Sunday, Monday, Tuesday
    Watos Days: Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday.

Saturday night during midnight tasbeha, Adam alhan and tunes are said. During Verspers tasbeha, Watos alhan and tunes are still said.

sorry for blabbing..
  • i'm not sure bout that Paul
    i thought O Penchois was the Watos tune ???

the tune for the Morning Doxologies is used in the Morning doxologies (duh lol) and can be used as the tune for the conclusion of the Adam Theotokia's, but the alternative tune can be used as well...