Lifestyle

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
I am a university student and I don't have many friends. A few days ago, I went shopping with a fellow student who happens to be gay. He is a normal person. My mother is saying this is wrong, I understand her. But he taught me to be tolerant (in some ways) and accept people instead of judge. Now someone from church is saying that I shouldn't talk with this student unless it is at university.

This made me feel guilty. How do you guys feel about interacting with non heterosexual individuals in the western world? Do you avoid being their friends?

Comments

• When Baba Shenouda was in the army, he fasted Ramadan with his fellow Muslim friends as to be considerate to their lifestyle.

I bet we can answer all these threads using examples from HH's life.
  • That's very sweet. His holiness was so considerate. But I really want a more direct approach to my question, aka, if you quote something from the bible, could you please take the time to explain it to me? Thank you.
  • I guess bad company corrupts good morals.

I don't really hang out with people who I think will have a negative affect on me, but other people use it as an opportunity to witness to Christ. Have you asked your FOC?
  • I can't reach my FOC at the moment. you are right about the bad company. And I am not a preacher, I let him know that i am a practising christian and when he asked me about homosexuality, I told him "it is wrong, but who am I to judge anyone?".

Also if I avoid anybody who isn't following the type of lifestyle I am living, then I will never talk to anyone. I live in a culture where binge drinking, casual sex and any sexual orientation is 'normal'. I feel disheartened and confused now.
  • I think you should not worry too much as if you have to help people you may actually help people if you are already in the situation because God can work with all things but my FOC would tell me not to anything I am not comfortable with