Hey there

13»

Comments

• [quote author=GabrielYakub link=topic=12639.msg148621#msg148621 date=1323253606]
    Michael,

what do you mean by define God with science? and Fathom God with our senses?

~Gabe

Gabriel, it sounds to me like you're a logical, straightforward person. I would consider myself the same way, as I'm actually studying math and logic is one of my strong suits. But when it comes time to consider God, all of that goes out the window. There is no if-then for God, there is no cause-effect for God, there is no way to empirically measure God. Logic applied to God yields failed logic.

Take for example a story regarding your namesake, Archangel Gabriel, the Announcer. St. Mary tried to use logic when he announced to her the good news - but it didn't work. So she accepted that God is outside of logic, and we must do the same.
  • Gabe,

You dodged this question.

Do you want there to be a God?

✞✞✞
  • [quote author=GabrielYakub link=topic=12639.msg148599#msg148599 date=1323232242]
    First and foremost, you are in no position to assert what will and what won't convince me that God exists (although I agree with you that it wont be the Bible, the Patristic writings, the clergy, and "basic logic").
    I did not make any assertions on what will convince. You made the assertions and you just confirmed it in the second half of your sentence in parentheses.

Second, science doesn't just claim anything without some actual research and investigation, look up the scientific method if you have to.

Buddy, I'm a doctor. I know plenty about the scientific method. It is an art of interpretation based on peer review, hypotheses and reproducible experiments. It cannot prove the existence of God.