I am BiPolar, now what?

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
i was recently diagnosed with bipolar disorder, i am fairly new to the coptic orthodox faith and was wondering what this meant for me in terms of spirituality. is this disorder purely spiritual? or is this a real psychological disorder. what is the view of the coptic orthodox church on this matter and that of medication? i have been so embarassed i dont want to serve as a deacon let alone take communion.

Comments

• what is there to be embarrassed about? we all have our problems. no one is perfect. think of it as your cross that you must carry through your life. never give up hope and always pray for God's mercy

please pray for me and my weakness
  • bipolar is not a sin.. some bipolar people were the most creative people.. they have many good ideas all running in their head..

• thanks for the encouraging words. i think now there is a stigma attatched to mental illness so i was questioning everything that i have thought, said and written. thanks again!
  • i agree with these comments.
    many of us are crazy, the only difference is that we are not all diagnosed yet!

i get really hyperactive at times and start talking about random things that no-one is interested in, like i'm buzzing and can't calm down. i went to see my doctor, but he seems to have a similar problem and couldn't stop talking, we never got as far as a diagnosis! (well, i think i diagnosed him, but that didn't help me!)
    in my opinion (i'm not a psychiatrist but have studied a lot of psychiatry at med school and since), all mental illness has physical, spiritual, and emotional aspects. i have a family member with 'proper' diagnosed mental illness, so i think i have a good idea what i am talking about.