Coptic experts and theologians - John 1:1

edited December 1969 in Coptic Orthodox Church
Hey all,

a friend of mine recently drew my attention to this article; http://jehovah.to/exe/translation/coptic.pdf
It's a Jehovah's Witness article that attacks Orthodox doctrine by looking at the translation of John's Gospel, and this is obviously a big problem. This is well above my understanding of the language, so I'm wondering if anyone here is able to take a look at this and explain it. I'm sorry if this has been seen before and I'm just very slow, but it's the first time I've seen it :P

Matthew

Comments

• I am no expert in language, but from what I know the Jehovah's witnesses are not consistent with their translations. The same word in greek for God is used in John 1:1, yet they changed it to "a god" to fit their heresies. Bottom line, all scholars agree on the translation except them. May God punish them for their lies and meddling with his HOLY Word.
  • Thankyou Unworthy, but I was looking for a focused criticism of this article and WHY it's incorrect.

GB

Matthew
  • Unworthy1,

Please play nice.

We have the blessing of having a few JW brothers and sisters participating in this forum.  Disagreeing with them is well and right, but hoping God's wrath on them is rash and unchristian . . .

George
  • LondonCopt,

I found this sit to be interesting:
    http://www.carm.org/religious-movements/jehovahs-witnesses/john-11-word-was-god

Info from the website (the first part is paraphrased and I commented in brackets[]:

The Gospel of John, as well as the rest of the bible teaches us that there is only one God.  If the text of john 1:1 were to be interpreted "a god" that would imply either henotheism or polytheism; this would be inconsistent.  [Not only that but if Jesus were "a god" and not God then wouldn't honoring him in any way would be in direct violation of the second commandment.]