Numb to Music. Because of Sports?

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
Hey,
I'm a teenage boy with quite a problem.

All my life I've loved music. It's always been something I enjoyed. I am a musician who's been practicing music for the past couple years. (I play guitar as my main instrument) I was addicted. I couldn't get enough. I listened to music the majority of my day, everyday and was happy. I never was into sports and my athleticism was pretty low.

A couple months ago I forced myself to give it up for Holy Week and I was successful in doing so. But when I came back to music, I was extremely disappointed. It didn't make me feel anything. I couldn't like a song or hate a song. All songs sounded the same. Plain, dull, emotionless, just noise pretty much. I was bummed. I didn't know what to do.

A few weeks before I discovered music had lost it's effect, I picked up football (American) at school, to get in shape mainly. I instantly feel in love with the sport. I never got into it before but the day I showed up to my first lifting session I was in love. I was still in love with music but that faded away weeks later.

Now I'm confused, I've been trying to find a solution to my problem for months. I've tried changing genres, taking more breaks from music, forcing myself to listen to it. Nothing worked. Music did nothing. It sounds so plain and I don't even remember how great it used to be. I now find it very insignificant and something I can live without. Which I never thought I could live without it before.