Humility or low-self esteem?

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Hey guys, as we all know humility is one of the most beautiful and wonderful characteristics but many of us may have trouble understanding what true humility is. I really do not understand it fully either and I was wondering if you guys may help.

What I do know is that there is a fine line between humility and low-self esteem. Going around saying that you're the worst person who ever existed and hating yourself is not humility. Knowing that you are a sinner but understanding your great value to God is. Now understanding our sins and evil habits is not the only part of life that we have to be humble about.

How do we distinguish that fine line in other situations?

Comments

• I am no expert, but I would think that the difference between humility and low self-esteem is the following: when you are humble, you know that even though you are a sinner, God loves you and wants the best for you. You are confident that whatever 'bad" things that are happening to you are occuring simply because God wants to reveal a truth to you. You gladly and humbly accept the Grace of God. On the other hand, when you have low self-esteem, you believe that God does not love you and that whatever bad things are happening to you are a result of your own failures. You feel alone, unloved. It becomes hard to accept the Grace of God in your life. In the end, it has to do with how YOU percieve God's will in your life.

Hope this helps.

God bless,

ML
  • I'm having the same problem.. how do you know?

Some say its "putting yourself down" others might call it "humility" which one is it? And if its the negative one, how can you change that in someones thinking without causing them pride?

Maz
  • Hi Maz,

The difference can be found in Philipians:

"I can do all things in Christ who strengthens me."