Coptic Bible

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
I'm a biblical scholar, at least to the extent that I am doing a PhD in biblical studies and that I can read Greek (and some Hebrew).

I'm currently working very hard to read Coptic.  I've managed to translate Matthew's Gospel all the way through, and have also translated some of Mark as well.  I use a critical edition of Sahidic and Bohairic Coptic produced back at the beginning of the 1900s by a non-Copt scholar named Horner.  Unfortunately, only the New Testament is available.

What do Copts use for their Bible now?  I searched the forum some and found one thread which recommended New KJV (NKJV) and NIV, and even RSV.  But what do scholars of the Coptic church read?  Surely they don't read the English versions.  Surely they read from their own Coptic Bibles!

If so, I really need a copy for myself, but cannot find one.

This is especially critical for me in regard to the Old Testament, since I only have access to about 25% of the Old Testament books through scattered manuscripts published in various books hither and yon.

I would appreciate any help!

Thanks

Comments

• Hi Schoyen,

on this site u can find a digital version of most of the bible books:

http://www.coptic.org/language/bible/bible.htm

(or via the link http://www.remenkimi.com/ then scroll down, and u'll find "coptic bible" to the left)

Perhaps you could mail the people of that site for more information about manuscripts.
  • Yep, been there, and this is helpful.  However, today I'm looking for passages in 1,2 Samuel and 1,2 Kings (Greek: 1-4 Kings), 4 Maccabbees, Ezekiel, and Sirach.

Do Copts not have the Bible written in Copt?

If I were in Egypt, what version of the Bible would I read?

By the way, thanks for the speedy reply.
  • Firstly welcome Schoyen,