LENT: Foods to eat when fasting

hey guys, i started fasting yesturday and i don't know what to eat. cause everything at school is all with dairy in it or is meat. and even some salad dressings have dairy in them (just discovered that when i was really close to eating it). and my parents don't even want me fasting (i am too young to go for 55 days). and i want to be able to prove to them that i can do it. to do that i need some eating tips. it is my first time and i don't want to mess up. can anyone PLEASE help me? ??? :)

Comments

• to prove to them that i can do it

You don't fast to prove to people/ parents or whoever that you can do it. It's either you know what the meaning of fasting is or you don't fast at all...there is no use if it's just proving to someone. Fasting is for self control...if you can't do that then don't at all...
    About the food part...there is a lot of vegeterian foods in school...and you can eat any of that...but if you just are doing it for other people and not yourself then it's better for you not to fast at all.
  • no actually what i mean by "prove it to my parents" is to fast but not so i can prove to them that i am not young or anything but to show them that i can fast cause i have faith in God and i know that he can help me get through it. if i only did it just to show my parents then that is just a waist of time and God will be upset with me. i am doing it so i can show my parents that my faith in my Lord can get me through anything. but they see it as i will like die if i fast. and i just want to show them that i will "not die" if i do. by doing that i want to show them that there are a lot of diff. foods i can eat. not as a challenge. do you get me?????? :)
  • You can always make your food at home, instead of getting it from school. You can eat the usual FOOL and TA3MEYA! :P Or make your own fasting salad, and chick peas.
  • [quote author=icontrol2002 link=board=10;threadid=3354;start=0#msg49111 date=1141170731]