Assorted Questions

1) Why do we say Panou] instead of Psalm 150 on Bright Saturday?

2) Why is Tenen a Kiahk hymn but still present in many presentations?

3) Are we supposed to say all the interpretations for Kiahk Vesper's praise? Ie, do we have to say the Roman, then Bohairic, then Moakap. then all the rest?

4) Why does Kiahk have so many special things compared to other fasts, like Lent? The tasbeha is MUCH longer (and a bit more complicated), the month has its own chanted psalm tune (Cwtem taseri), etc.

5) Why does the Nativity fast start before Kiahk does?

Comments

• i am no expert, but i'll try no. 5:
    the aims of fasting and of singing church hymns are slightly different.
    we fast in order to discipline our bodies and obtain help from God to overcome the sin that tries to attack us.
    we sing in order to learn more about God's amazing grace and to celebrate His glory.

this addresses no. 4 a bit: in kiahk, we learn very much about the incarnation of God.
    just attending vespers (evening prayers) and tasbeha (night praises) and listening to the words gives us a deeper understanding - much more than by just reading about it.
    i have studied educational theory (as relevant to my field of work) and it is clear that reading something (or watching an online video) is a fairly inefficient method of learning.
    learning by experience teaches us so much more.
    the church fathers knew this, and so wrote the kiahk hymns so that we can enter God's presence with praise while learning about Him by both words and experience.

when we understand why and how God became man and brought us into His presence, we can easily understand afterwards how the Son of God died and resurrected.
    so we start by fasting for nativity in preparation to learn about the incarnation.