Help! Both a Metropolitan and a Bishop!?!?

I really need help. What are you supposed to say when there is a Bishop AND a Metropolitan? Specifically in things like Aketchee and Empeniot (after the absolution of the servants)?? What about Hitens??

Comments

• for aketchee (you gave him the grace of melchizedek etc.), you commemorate first the patriarch, then the metropolitan, then the bishop.
    you just add an extra line with 'nem peniot' for the bishop in exactly the same tune and rhythm as the previous line for the metropolitan.

it is always metropolitan first, regardless of the age or seniority of the two.

i think it is the same for the other songs, but i am a complete amateur when it comes to coptic hyms 
    (i have been to 1 1/2 lessons, and the rest i got from this website, 'learn coptic hymns' on you tube and a few other sources).
    hopefully a proper reader  / chanter will answer you before tomorrow...
  • Thank you for your help, mabsoota! 
  • Let me guess. Metropolitan Tadros and Bishop David? ;)

• In most cases where you have "nem peniot en episkopos" (and our father the bishop...) you add the Metropolitan's name first (as mabsoota said above) 

"nem peniot em metropolitis Abba <metropolitan> nem peniot en episkopos abba <bishop>"

"and our father the metropolitan Abba <> and our father the bishop Abba <>"

In some cases, like verses of cymbals or Rejoice O Mary, you would add a new verse before the bishop verse:
    "nem pefkeshfeer en litorgos peniot ethowab en dikeos Abba <met> pimetropolitis matagrof hijen pefethronos"
    "and his partner in the liturgy our holy righteous father Abba <> the Metropolitan confirm him upon his throne"

Or in the Hiten (hymn of intercessions)
    "hiten noevki areh eponkh empeniot ettaiot en dikeos Abba <met> pimetropolitis, Pchois..."
    "Through their prayers keep the life of our honored righteous father Abba <Met> the Metropolitan, O Lord..."

Enjoy the visit!
  • I thought that it technically goes