Should Copts Do anything?

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Many people think and say that copts shouldn't do anything about hate crimes. but do copts believe that??

Comments

• I do not understand what you are asking please clarify???
  • Well I have noticed that because we are such a minority all over the world, we are unable to do anything. so many others say we don't do anything because we're afraid of muslims. well at least that's what's said here between people i know in the US. What i wanted to know is if Copts themselves say the samething or not. because as a cop, i want to do everything and stand up for the right of me and my religion, but i don't know if that's what others feel. So i would like to know what other coptic individuals think.
  • One of the most powerful parts of the witness to the Faith of the Copts is the Christ-like way in which they do not return evil for evil.

Our Lord Himself commands us in Matthew 5:43-48

43 You have heard that it was said, `You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.'
    44 But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you,
    45 that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.
    46 For if you love those who love you, what reward have you? Do not even the tax collectors do the same?
    47 And if you greet your brethren only, what do you do more than others? Do not even the tax collectors do so?
    48 Therefore you shall be perfect, just as your Father in heaven is perfect

In the Biblical sense, the Copts are doing something, and something important. By obeying Our Lord's command, they show the world a wonderful example of Christian witness. I am sure that one of the reasons you never hear criticism of the Copts in the West is the fact that they do not retaliate.

As Our Lord said in Luke 6:27-28