doing story research...

Hi, I'm a new poster. I probably should introduce myself in your introduction forum, and I will do that ASAP. But I thought I'd start a thread here, first...

I'm a writer, published and all that. I've been working on some stories that are called "pastiches" - these are stories relating to the Sherlock Holmes canon of stories, and the stories I'm doing are all Holmes "church mysteries." They are slotted for publication in the next year. Two of the stories are done (they are based on Holmes' dealing with Pope Leo XIII in Rome). And I'm working on the third and last one now. This last story, taken from the text of the Holmes' canon of stories, is called "The Two Coptic Patriarchs."

Now - being a Catholic, I'll admit I know only a little about the Coptic Church. I'm sure I can learn a good deal from research here and on other sites, but I was hoping from some more personal experiences, smells and bells if you will, from those who are members of this Church. And maybe some really good references. I want to be accurate if nothing else.

I was wondering if there are any here who'd like to help me with some questions I have as I go - if there are any Holmes fans here who want to participate in my brainstorming and helping me "get it right," And who'd like to read and critique the story when it's finished. If you are interested, let me know--or just jump on into this thread.

First and foremost - does anyone know anything here about the Coptic Church in Britain? Did they have much of a population in Britain at the turn of the century (this would take place in 1898-99)? I'd like to find out who the Patriarch was or who the hierarchy in England were at the time.

That's just my first question. I do have more. Any help is greatly appreciated.

God bless you all,
--Ann
(Tashaar)

Comments

• i know a friend that can answer ur questions!!
    i will get him!!

bentBABAyasooa`