Regarding Egyptian Mentality & Success

edited December 1969 in Youth Corner
I am struggling to understand in our egyptian culture why its not so favorable or successful to be anything but like a doctor, lawyer, engineer, pharmacist? I don't understand that...I mean I know they are lucrative careers but other careers are just as important and its disappointing that you are not really regarded successful or a "great catch" to marry if your not in those fields. I am a social worker and when I tell other egyptians they have this look like "oh..okay" I am proud of what I do and love it and wouldn't trade it for any other career. Its just very frustrating or disappointing that people don't see these other careers as successful or something to be proud of....Hopefully this attitude changes in our future generations and its not like a FOB mentality only..

I mean one incident I remember was a friend of mine was telling another friend how great of a catch her fiance is bc he works as a doctor. Its kind of disappointing to those who are teachers, firefighters, cops, psychologists, or any other social service field... That we are not considered successful bc our paychecks are not as big as those in the medicine or engineering fields...It would be nice to know that there are some egyptians in the social service (cops, teachers, firefighers, etc..)fields and happy in them... So please feel free to give me your feedback and opinions..and maybe some of your interesting careers that break from the norm of our egyptian culture! God bless all! :)

Comments

• [quote author=Joyful4eva link=board=13;threadid=4459;start=0#msg61495 date=1159804477]