Suicide Confidentiality?

edited December 2008 in Faith Issues
Hello

Comments

• did he know what he was going to promise about before he promised it?
  • Although I am still learning to live as a Christian should, I try to use love as my guide when it comes to issues like this.

What would be the most loving thing to do - keep the promise and have the person go on to suicide or to tell someone who might be able to help?

Of course, you can also try not promising things without knowing what you're agreeing to. I often say "I'll try to" when asked if I'll promise something. It doesn't mean I don't feel bound, but it does allow me some room if the promise involves something I can't in good conscience do.
  • I personally would tell a priest about that person and break the promise. This is a person's life were talking about here, since we are called to love one another, we should save the life.

You can confess for breaking a promise and achieve eternal life. But suicide you cannot confess, you go to Hades for it.

Judas Iscariot committed suicide after he betrayed the Lord. St. Peter repented. Peter achieved eternal life wheras Judas spends his life in Hades.

Suicide is unforgiveable because dead people cant confess or repent or be forgiven of the sins of the world.
  • I've always thought that A and S were struck down because they'd renegged on a promise before God and lied about it.

Jesus told us to love one another as we love ourselves - I'd prefer someone to break a promise to me to try and help me rather than keep the promise and let me break God's law (Thou shalt not kill, in my view, applies to suicide as much as to homocide).

I was also under the impression that suicide was wrong because it steals from God and is giving in to despair.