Fasting

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
alot of prostant when they come to the point of fasting even if you tell them everything about fasting such as why we fast and what is the fasting
but they come with these question they ask give me a proof of fasting in the bible the bible didn't mention fasting at all
when we try to tell them Moses fast for 40 days and night then danied saying no he didn't fast he just stay on the mountain that long
would someone help me with this situation ???
they want a proof from the bible about fasting by chapter and verse and i'm not good at that.
waiting to hear from you ;D

Comments

• Fasting. Why do we fast during certain times of the year?

“When you fast.” WHEN here means that there is a certain specific time for fasting, exactly as Jesus says, “When the son of Man comes in his glory” Matthew 25:31. So, WHEN means that the coming of Christ is a fact that there is a certain time for it to happen.

In the Old Testament, God specified certain times for fasting, “Thus says the Lord of hosts: ‘The fast of the fourth month, the fast of the fifth, the fast of the seventh, and the fast of the tenth, Shall be joy and gladness and cheerful feasts for the house of Judah. Therefore love truth and peace.’” Zechariah 8:19

Christ specified certain times for his disciples to fast as well, “But the days will come when the bridegroom will be taken away from them, and then they will fast those days” Mark 2:20.

Group fasting has been commanded in the Old Testament several times. See Ezra 8:21, Nehemiah 9:1, Esther 4:3 and 16, and Jonah 3:5.

Christ himself fasted and explained the importance of fasting saying, “However, this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting” Matthew 17:21.

St. Paul also fasted a lot, see 2 Corinthians 11:27. He also says, “ That you may give yourselves to fasting and prayer” 1 Corinthians 7:5.