Death in Christianity

Hello,

What is the church's view on how a person dies? An immediate family member of mine died completely alone after suffering a severe illness for which nobody tried to help and he had no support from anyone. I work in healthcare and I have seen different types of deaths. To me, I do not believe his death was peaceful or pain free.

How do you think someone feels when they are dying completely alone? I cannot accept the general sayings of "death is rest" and "they went peacefully" because I am aware of how painful the process of dying can be. But is there anything the bible says about what happens to good people who are in the process of dying? Why would God make the righteous suffer horrible deaths (which are not for the sake of martyrdom)?

It sickens me beyond belief to even imagine what he would have been going through. I feel lost and I need answers that my brain and heart can accept. So many things that were said to me seem to be made up by people to comfort the living rather than reveal the facts. I want to know the truth. I am not scared of my own death, but I am grieving the suffering of a loved one and the possibility of similar suffering for the rest of my family. I feel inconsolable over the way he died.

Comments

• I am sorry for the grief you are through mnc_hnn. It sounds like he may of being alone and in distress and it was and still is a very emotional time for you, no doubt.
    Grief can be filled with sadness and anger and it is quite natural to feel this way and it can be because of regret and a deep feeling of hopelessness.
    I pray that are able to look forward because our God is a compassionate God whom gives life to the righteous like the dear one you have just lost, just like Lazarus, whom Jesus united HImself in the grief of those who were mourning Lazarus when He wept.