Difnar Usage/Content

Hello my brothers and sisters in Christ,

I have many questions regarding the Antiphonarium/Difnar, as I have never said it, nor heard it said (as I am new to many of the more obscure hymns of the church):
1- What exactly is it? I looked online but I don't think I fully understand it.
2- Is there a conclusion to it? I have seen that there is an *Adam* introduction in the Sunday Midnight Praises folder on this site.
3- Is there a Watos introduction? I saw there was a lengthy thread of this elsewhere on the forums, but I got very confused very quickly..
4- When is it said?
4.5- When is it not said?
5- Is it an uncommon/"dead" practice, like the reading of the Coptic gospel?

`Ari`vmeui `nje P[oic,
Daniel.

Comments

• Dear @Daniel_Kyrillos,
    I am interested in knowing what your Coptic signature means..
    Oujai khan ebshois
  • Hi Daniel,

The antiphonarium is considered part of a veneration of a particular saint and is chanted in vesper praise/midnight praise/veneration service. It has an adam/vatos introduction which is chanted antiphonally (meaning back and forth between different choruses). After the introduction, the reading is to be read (or chanted). You can think of it like the synaxarium but can be chanted, however most people only chant the introduction and read the rest. If you have the coptic reader app it will show you the reading of the day under the section 'readings.' Anyway, from what i remember, this is chanted right before the conclusion of the theotokia's.

I made a video a while ago describing the structure of the praises. This video was done completely in english for simplicity's sake... if you watch it you will find out the tunes (keep in mind that there are several tunes depending on the occasion of the church). I believe also that there are two annual adam "ways"...though these are mainly based on region. What i mean is that alexandria says the adam different from how Cairo would say the adam (annual intro).