Hi from Seattle :)

edited December 1969 in Introductions
I found this site from OC.net, how cool is this :)

I'm a graduate student living in Seattle, as the post says. I'm also a preschool teacher. I grew up Catholic, became Muslim at 15 and finally left Islam when I was 26. Towards the very end of my Muslim days I met this awesome Egyptian guy and assumed he was also Muslim, only to find out he was Coptic Christian. I really just wanted to learn Arabic from a native speaker so we became friends. Fast forward and now we're engaged.

I've been attending the GOC here, but recently started to visit the COC and I like it very much, but the main one is about an hour if not farther away from me so I don't go often. Orthodoxy feels like the spiritual home I had been searching for since my teenage years.

Comments

• Whoa, that's such a cool story. Just out of curiosity, what caused you to convert to Orthodoxy other than your spouse being Orthodox?
  • I have not officially been re-baptized yet :)

Anyway, as weird as is sounds, probably my Muslim years. Islam took so much from the early/Orthodox Church, and I was ignorant of that for a long time. I assumed well, this is all strictly in Islam only (certain things like daily prayer, etc), not borrowed from or based on any other faith but as soon as I found those things out it was like a light went on. LOL granted I was in denial for little bit but obviously I came around.
  • [quote author=rebecca.ann link=topic=14559.msg165512#msg165512 date=1375423916]
    I have not officially been re-baptized yet :)