Jesus Fasting for us

Jesus fasted for us 40 days and 40 nights.

We fast to weaken our bodies in order to get closer to God.

Why did Jesus fast or need to fast for us? He is God; why did he need to get closer to himself? He can still do whatever he wants without fasting because He is God right?

Comments

• Our Lord fasted as an example to us. He fasted before He began His ministry on earth to show us that without fasting and prayer our life and work will not be fruitful.
    Hope I helped.
    Please pray for me.
  • Hey guys,

I have a problem. I want to start 2morrow with fasting (2morrow isn't it?) But like every fast, I'm getting to hear this of my dad: "No, you are not going to start 2morrow, we will delay It for a week, 2 weeks.. .etc)" and his arguments are always the same, namely that I must to eat, I am studying,, a couple of weeks is enough, I don't even rememeber them exactly cause he doesn't want to tell me exactly why and he is always ending up making an excuse for me to not to fast now.

The same story happened when I was 15, 16, 17, 18... and I am now.. {don't laugh}: 19.

I am really getting annoyed of it and tired and last week I was in the church when Abouna gave us a sermon ( my dad wasn't there) about fasting and that parents never must let their children delaying the fast, because fasting is making you better, and that it is even healthy to fast and Spiritually it is important.