Why is God destroying my life

edited June 2011 in Personal Issues
I keep noticing in my life that the more I pray, read the bible, and try to get close to God, the more my life gets worse and worse. For example, I just confessed and now I am having great pain in my heart that is killing me. This is just one example. Is this normal? Can someone give me a bible verse that explains this. I feel like all the problems in my life are coming from my faith and that if I were to abandon this religion, all my problems would dissapear. Also, I have been praying the same prayers to God for many years and they are yet to be answered, even those things which are spiritual and are definitely in God's will.

Because of this,  I am very tempted to leave the faith and become a muslim, since I am concerned that this may be Allah punishing me for worshiping a false god. So, any expanation on why Islam is not the right religion would be appreciated. (Don't say something stupid like Muslims are violent or the Koran is sexist; have some humility).

Thanks,
Pray for me

Comments