Lamentations of Jermiah the prophet

edited December 1969 in Hymns Discussion
Hi all,
So far I can't find any two recordings of Lamentations of Jeremiah the prophet (sung on Good Friday) that share the same tune. Maybe its just me, but it seems like its not just a difference of styles between different priests/recordings, but as if each person is reading the words to their own tune. Can someone please post a link to the actual tune that we're supposed to sing these powerful words to?

Thanks,

Bishoy

Comments

• What priests/recordings have you listened to? In all honesty, some priests do not know the hymn well and just 'wing it.' So it might sound somewhat different. But then again, I am no expert on hymns so this is just my opinion.
  • I've listened to Fr. Metias Mankaryous, Fr. David (forgot his last name), Fr Mousa Roshdy, Fr. Boutros (from USA), and I listened to one more in Arabic a long time ago, for which I don't remember the name of the priest. Aside from that, I've heard it in sung in two different churches three different ways over a period of three years (different readers at one of the churches). I really loved the words and strong meaning behind the letters, so I was interested in finding out what the real tune was.

I actually answered my own question just a couple of minutes ago. After a little more digging, I came across http://www.copticheritage.org/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=printview&t=1222&start=0.
    According to Ramez Mikhail of that discussion,
    "there probably exists two teachings concerning the Lamentations of Jeremiah in Arabic:

1- Dydimus institute teaching:

teaches that the Lamentations reading should be chanted using the tune of the litany of oblations.

2-Higher Institute of Coptic Studies: