Liturgy of the Presanctified

Hello,

How does the OOC view this practice? I would've never guessed that the EO would preserve the body on the altar throughout the weekdays in lent. As Coptic people, we always consume the body entirely after any liturgy. It's such a bizarre practice. Does this present any issues with unity between the EO and the OO?

PK

Comments

• The Church of Alexandria, the Coptic Church, used to have a pre-sanctified sacraments till it was forbidden by St. Athanasius. Other Oriental Churches, the Armenian, still have this Tradition.

The answer is no, it will not have an effect on the Church unity.

Thanks
  • Woah, how does pre-sanctified sacraments work out?

What is the purpose of that and WHY do they do that?
  • Im not an expert on their rites but in a nutshell, part of the sunday communion is preserved for lent weekday liturgies. They believe that the consecration of the bread and wine is a "festive" occasion, only to be done on sundays of lent. Therefore, their local parishes might do the friday night liturgies where they fast all day, but instead of consecrating new bread and wine, they use the remaining fragments from last Sunday's liturgies. What's interesting to note is that some actually suggest that St. Severus of Antioch (a strictly Oriental Orthodox saint) is the one who began this. I really would like to know more about this.

PK
  • [quote author=imikhail link=topic=11006.msg133308#msg133308 date=1300448119]
    What's interesting to note is that some actually suggest that St. Severus of Antioch (a strictly Oriental Orthodox saint) is the one who began this. I really would like to know more about this.

PK