What do the Holy fathers say about evolution?

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Is there anyone who has asked God about evolution in prayer among the current holy fathers? what does the holy fathers say about it?

Comments

• the holy fathers of old influence and teach the fathers of the present, so whatever u have read from the earlier fathers of the church is what ur present day fathers would say.  Im not really an expert on what we believe when it comes to evolution, but i know we dont come from monkeys that is the most ignorant science.  The Bible actually says "See, this alone I found, that God made man upright, but they have sought out many schemes." Ecclesiastes 7:29

(this comes from a story but i think it works)
  • Thank you.
  • it is also been said that God created man thru His own image..
  • Thank you.
  • does it matter if we did or did not come from apes as evolution suggests? we are still an image of God regardless of the path to our existence and consciousness
  • I believe it does matter whether we are descended from apes or not.

If the theory of evolution is true then we got here by chance, or at least God started the ball rolling then went into partial retirement (Deism). This runs clean against our faith which teaches that even a sparrow falling to the ground is known to the Father.

If anyone can convincingly square the circle i.e. as far as Providence versus Chance is concerned, I would love to hear it
  • I think that circle can be squared because evolution is not a process of chance. Even staunch atheists like Richard Dawkins argue passionately that there is nothing random about evolution - he insists that natural selection is a natural force, like gravity, and pushes in only one direction: from simplicity to complexity. In fact, here's an excerpt from an interview he gave: