Sunday School Assistance

edited December 1969 in Coptic Orthodox Church
Hi,

I was having a brainstorming session with this monk concerning what to do with children who are around 5 to 7 years old.

They seem to be the ones causing the most noise and disruption in the Church.

I suggested that we make them into a Choir and get them involved in the Church. Some lady interjected and said "Im an expert in Sunday School, and I know how Children behave. Children cannot concentrate for more than 10 mins. More than 10 mins, they need to play with something".

I said to her " Well, OK.. but we need a solution for this problem".

At 7 years, I wasn't running around the church causing disruption. I admit, i found it hard to concentrate on the mass, so what our Church did was send us downstairs for hymn lessons during part of the mass. Now, I don't know if that was a good idea.

But if kids cannot concentrate during the entire mass, what should they do? Any ideas?

Should we ask them to sit down quietly and read a book?

Should we tell them to go and play outside or in the Church gardens if they feel a bit restless??

What can we do?

Comments

• she was right, and you are right...

listen... next time you go to church, watch the children, and see what they are doing... see what the "disruptive" children are doing, and see what the quite kids are doing.

I suggested that we make them into a Choir and get them involved in the Church. Some lady interjected and said "Im an expert in Sunday School, and I know how Children behave. Children cannot concentrate for more than 10 mins. More than 10 mins, they need to play with something".

as I wish to speak about the word "expert" in sunday school... but I will leave that for another time... the choir will not make a difference, if boys who are this age and are deacons are causing a ruckus... and the "expert" is right, kids are taught to not have their attention on something for more than ten minutes...