What should I do?

Hi,

Some guy at Church asked me out for a coffee. I'm new in the city, and I don't know many people. I'd like to make friends etc, but I'm just concerned that if others see me with him, they'll think "Oh! She's taken!" and then I'll never get married.

What should I do?

Comments

• [quote author=SuperMAN(BAM) link=topic=8835.msg110751#msg110751 date=1266371937]
    don't go

What!?

For a coffee!??

I didnt think someone would tell me not to go. I was hoping for some advice on how to go without giving the impression to others that I'm taken.

How exactly am I meant to get to know a man to get married anyway!!???
  • Obviously, he wants to get to know you.  If you are interested go, if not--do not.

If you go, make sure he picks up the tab.  At least that way you are not out anything.

You can wear a shirt that says:  "Not taken", just in case.

Or you may go to another part of town where you will not be spotted.

Or maybe you can hold off until after Lent so you can have sweets with the coffee.

Don't dwell on it too much.
  • [quote author=ilovesaintmark link=topic=8835.msg110753#msg110753 date=1266372185]
    Obviously, he wants to get to know you.  If you are interested go, if not--do not.

If you go, make sure he picks up the tab.  At least that way you are not out anything.

You can wear a shirt that says:  "Not taken", just in case.

Or you may go to another part of town where you will not be spotted.

Or maybe you can hold off until after Lent so you can have sweets with the coffee.

Don't dwell on it too much.

Yeah, he's definately going to pick up the tab, he wants to take me to a coffee on Union Square! I aint paying for that!

I don't really know him. I know he teaches Sunday School, and he likes the tasbeha etc. All I can tell you is this. If he gets fresh with me, he'll be sorry.

But, I need to make friends. I don't know why in this particular church, everyone is so ... to themselves.
  • what are the ages?