Hardening of Our Hearts

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Hello,

I have a question, I REALLY NEED HELP WITH:

Its to do with Exodus. Chapter 6, verse 28. Basically, God tells Moses to go and tell Pharoah to 'free my people'. Moses says something like "why me, I'm not really good at speaking"... God reassures Moses.. and then tells him "I will harden Pharoah's heart'.

Now.. wait a sec, this is SO strange. Why is God hardening the heart of Pharoah and yet at the same time asking Moses to tell pharoah to free the Israelites???

Is it that He wants the 10 plagues to fall on the Egyptians?
Is it because He wants to show that HE is Lord??

I'd like to know?? WHy Harden Pharoah's heart??????
Secondly, isn't that interferring in Man's Will?? I mean, He hardens Pharoah's heart, and that makes Pharoah stubborn, and that causes calamity on all the Egyptians. So, that leads us to the next question:

Does God then interfere in Man's Will for His Own Plan??

Then, this leads us to another question:

Does God make people's heart open and some closed?? Or is it the human will of each person to control his heart.

In fact, this last question is the MAIN question I need answered in this thread. The rest are REALLY important, but I need that asap.

Many thanks.

Comments

• Let's say you have this heart of stone and a woman comes to you and asks you to help her financially because her son is really sick, and you don't help her.
    Then your own son get struck down by a horrible disease and then you start to feel the pain and your heart is softened and then you agree to help that lady.
    It's just an example of how God can make someone's heart softer, I think He does that indirectly, not interfering with man's will, but with the circumstances that dictate it.

Hope that helps , it's just off the top of my head...

God bless
    Please pray for my weakness
  • God might have hardened Pharaoh's heart so God can be glorified at the end.....