Help Please...

Hi guys,
I'm new to this site in the sense that I have never posted before, but I have been reading all the forums and all the amazing things you guys write on here. I have been learning a lot from all you guys about a wide spectrum of topics.
Now has come the time that I really need your help.
I fell into this little problem and I need some advice.

I am in my first year of college and over the past couple months, I have been a bit detached from my school work, but for a valid reason (at least i think its valid in my mind). I have been spending a lot of time on websites as tasbeha.org and coptichymns.net listening and reading spiritual hymns and topics trying to grow in my spiritual life but at the same time, my grades in school have plummeted. I use to get good grades before (not a 4.0 gpa or anything) but nothing as bad as what I am getting now. My parents have started to get really upset with me concerning my grades and I feel like I don't have any motivation to study. My parents, like most egyptian parents, don't want me to work because they want me focus on my studies, but I'm not even making ok grades.
Anyways....what you guys think I should do about this matter?....Am I doing something wrong to totally disregard my school work for spiritual knowledge or should I do what would make my parents happy?

Thanks in advance.
Keep me in your prayers

Comments