What does fasting and praying mean?

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Selam ALL,

At one occasion, our Lord told his apostles,that it is only through Praying and Fasting that is possible to expel the weird demon that was possessing a man. In other words, we all need to Pray and Fast when we have tremendous problems that seem unsolvable,so that the Lord has mercy on us.

As a layman, I can take my AGPEYA and try to pray 7 times a day and ask ther Lord for his help. However, I do not understand the Fasting part. What did the Lord mean by FASTING in cases of difficulties and hardship? To get my current problem solved, I would be prepared to go to the extreme or at least try as much as I could. Please share how best one could fast, while praying?

regards,

Comments

• [quote author=Hezekiel link=topic=5829.msg78285#msg78285 date=1192316636]
    Selam ALL,

At one occasion, our Lord told his apostles,that it is only through Praying and Fasting that is possible to expel the weird demon that was possessing a man. In other words, we all need to Pray and Fast when we have tremendous problems that seem unsolvable,so that the Lord has mercy on us.

As a layman, I can take my AGPEYA and try to pray 7 times a day and ask ther Lord for his help. However, I do not understand the Fasting part. What did the Lord mean by FASTING in cases of difficulties and hardship? To get my current problem solved, I would be prepared to go to the extreme or at least try as much as I could. Please share how best one could fast, while praying?

You mention the fixed daily prayers of the Church which are contained in the Book of Hours (Agpia). The Church likewise has fixed weekly (wednesday and friday) and annual (Lent, Apostles fast, Virgin Mary's fast, Advent, etc.) fasts.