Question form some artist in training

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
Hey everyone, I had this question on my mind for a while but never got to asking it. I'm an artist wanna be, and I'm actually doodling everyday for practice, especially this summer I have to get some portfolio pieces done to get accepted to the college I want, wither majoring in Fine arts or Architecture, but I just want to go to that school. My question is sometimes to fully draw something with proper proportions and dynamically, you have to understand the shape of the object your drwing or painting or even sculpting. Would it be a sin if I lay my eyes on nude males or females(Figure Drawing), to understand their shape and muscle deformation? I know in the bible it clearly states that you should not look at your brothers nakedness, and even if you lay your eyes lustfully on the opposite sex you commit adultery? My other question is how to stop that lustful nature when you are figure drawing the opposite sex? Thanks in advance, everyone. ;D

Comments

• Mike,

First of all, kudos on your dedication to becoming an artist. I have a particular respect for the field, and I do hope you excel in it.
    In regards to your dilemma, I would suggest the utmost formality. In other words, hire professional models who would be used to modeling nude and would thus alleviate any unnecessary tension. Maintain a strict business-like attitude. That is not to say that you can't converse with them, but make sure you both understand that it is a business relationship.
    Also, you should simply experiment with different methods that work to help you control your emotions. The most powerful method, of course, is prayer.

You have mine,

Taio
  • Dear fatcopticmike,