Eating blood

edited December 1969 in Random Issues
Hi,

Acts 15:20 states that Christians are not allowed to eat blood. Does this mean that the meat we eat should be slaughtered by halal/kosher methods (i.e. slitting the animal's throat)?

I used to just ensure my meat was "well-done" before eating it, but since that obviously doesn't remove the blood, do we have to eat food slaughtered in a particular way?

Thanks

Comments

• we rent muslim or jewish :P lol sorry if that was rude... :-[
  • Wait, ordering it well done doesn't remove all the blood? And if so, why not?
  • [quote author=Christ4Life link=board=11;threadid=4385;start=0#msg60368 date=1157586000]
    Wait, ordering it well done doesn't remove all the blood? And if so, why not?

I'm no scientist, but it seems to me that if you have a bloody piece of meat in a frying pan, the blood won't just magically disappear all together because the meat is no longer red on the inside.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
  • I don't think we need to be pedantic about it. As far as I know, if you make sure your meat is well-done then that should be a good enough measure to take.

There was a lecture by His Holiness Pope Shenouda III that I saw just a few days ago in which he recounted an incident where he was served rare-medium cooked meat at some foreign function. When his american host asked why he wasn't eating his meat, His Holiness referred to the blood inside. The host asked the cooks to make sure the meat is well-done, and that sufficed for His Holiness.
  • i agree with IQBAL

cuz if you ordered ur meat WELL-DONE and make sure it is then you have notihng to worry about!

and there is alawys chickens!! ;D
  • [quote author=Iqbal link=board=11;threadid=4385;start=0#msg60391 date=1157626102]
    The host asked the cooks to make sure the meat is well-done, and that sufficed for His Holiness.

That suffices for me too then ;) Thanks.
  • AAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!