Praying through the intercession of Saints

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Hi All,
Im new to Tasbeha.Org and think its an absolute awesome website. Anyway, im not sure if this topic has already been covered but its something i need a little help with. I have a friend who says that it is not worthwhile praying through the intercessions of Saints or praising Saints as that time is better spent just praising God himself.
I know we have to praise Saints, etc. as it states it in Revelations firstly, but im sure it would say it elsewhere and there would be other strongholds in our faith regarding this.
Anyway help or advice, please throw it myway!
Regards And God Bless
Angelo

Comments

• ya..a similar topic with this question and some others was posted earlier...

St. Paul asks the Christian Ephesians, Thessalonians, Colossians and Romans to pray for him (Ephes. 6:19, 1 Thesal. 5:25; Colos. 4:3, and Rom. 15:30-31). We say in the liturgy of St. Basil, "By the command of your only-begotten Son we communicate with the memory of your saints . . . by whose prayers and supplications have mercy upon us all, and deliver us for the sake of your holy name"

-"An angel came and stood at the altar with a golden censer; and he was given much incense to mingle with the prayers of all the saints upon the golden altar before the throne; and the smoke of the incense rose with the prayers of the saints from the hand of the angel before God" (Rev. 8:3-4).

-“the twenty-four elders [the leaders of the people of God in heaven] fell down before the Lamb, each holding a harp, and with golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints" (Rev. 5:8)

-"But not the high priest [Christ] alone prays for those who pray sincerely, but also the angels . . . as also the souls of the saints who have already fallen asleep" St. Origen