My career and my parents

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
I plan on taking Engineering in University and joining the Canadian Forces as a Construction Engineer Officer, I have very good reasons for it, but that's not my issue, I know that's the career for me, at least for the first 9 years of my job life (I plan on leaving after a decade and then working civilian and taking care of family and children. My issue is my parents. They don't want me joining the army. It's the only thing I like doing, and I love what I have to do in it. How can I convince them? I prayed a lot about my choice, I'm so positive about it. I would go to RMCC but they don't let me. Help?

Comments

• They are upset because the US and Canadien forces are currently deployed in battle in a no-win situation with an ill-defined (actually undefined) mission.

They are worried that you may die. 

They are probably worried that, despite the honor of serving in the Armed Forces, you have the potential of being a pawn for foolish politicians and dying without any righteous purpose.
  • [quote author=ilovesaintmark link=topic=11570.msg139190#msg139190 date=1307577296]
    They are upset because the US and Canadien forces are currently deployed in battle in a no-win situation with an ill-defined (actually undefined) mission.

They are worried that you may die. 

They are probably worried that, despite the honor of serving in the Armed Forces, you have the potential of being a pawn for foolish politicians and dying without any righteous purpose.

Since Egyptians love to number things:  (lol)
    1. Construction Engineer Officers lead around 40 soldiers in mainly non-combat situations like responding to UN calls for disasters, like Haiti and designing and building facilities to facilitate missions. So, I'm fighting for a different cause.
    2. I won't die from being in the situation above.