mastering speaking english

edited December 1969 in Personal Issues
Hi everyone!

I would really appreciate any input and advice about my personal isse.

I came to North America from Egypt about 6 years ago. I'm not egyptian but have lived in egypt for few years. I used to attend church reguraly  and was very close to the church. I knew some english before I came although  I learnt most of my englsih during my 3 years of highschool. When I came here It was very difficult for me to keep my values and  faith mostly due to peer pressure. I felt that It was important for me to have some friends,  so that I can learnt the language. so I start having friends and tried to be more like them. I slowly decreased my church attendance and drifted from God. this continued for about 2 years.
After I graduated  from highschool. I  returned to the church, confessed and attempted to be close to the church. I purposely discontinue my contact with my friends, so that I won't remember my past sins and returnt them and also to aviod their negative influences.I descided not to have close friends because I was afraid of the negative influence I may get.

I was happy and content with myself till recently. but now there is something that troubles me. In the last 4 years  I barely made any progress of speaking english.  I use my native language more often. I go to school, come home,, study  and  at my spare time I enjoy spending time with family,reading bible, spiritual books or learning hymns.  Therefore I don't really speak much english after school. even in school I notice that I'm unfamiliar about what my classmate talks about, so I don't have much to say.
so my speaking  and prouncation is not geting better and I'm very concernd about that but don't really know how improve. I feel embarssed to say that I've been here for 6 years due to my poor spenglish speaking ability.

so what can I do to improve my english.

Comments