Can Abouna...?

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Hey all...its been agggeess since i've been here, i just finished my final exams and i graduated from high school...so now I'M FREE!!! anywayz...my questions is....can Abouna ban someone from having Holy Communion? and if he can...wat r sum reasons why he would do that...? and also i need someone to explain to me wat EXACTLY "Worship to the Ground" is and wat is the purpose of it???
Thanx

God Bless
Coptic21

Comments

• Yes. Abouna can ban someone from having Holy Communion. Some of the reasons that he might do that is if he knows that this certain person has committed a great sin that wouldn't allow them to take communion...and there are a lot of sins that can't allow you to take communion at least for a period of time. I think also if he knows that a certain person hasn't confessed for a period of time, he is able to ban them from communion...since they are going to be taking communion without repentance..and the obvious one...all people who are taking communion should be orthodox so if he saw someone who is going to take communion without baptism, he is able to ban that as well.
    I am not really sure what you mean by "Worshop to the Ground" means, so I don't really know.

God Bless and Congrats on your gradutation. :)
  • I know of a friend who was banned from Holy Communion for a month because he brought drugs to a convention. He is now studying to be a doctor and a very learned Deacon (and drug-free).
  • but that doesnt make sense...why would we get banned from communion for committing a big sin when we have repentence and confession? After all, the whole purpose of repentence and confession is so that we renew our relationship with God and ask for forgiveness because we dont want to commit an old sinful habit....