Verses disproving purgatory...

edited December 1969 in Coptic Orthodox Church
Hey, ok, so, f ne1 asks me to disprove purgatory... i wanna know the verses.. so i know 1 of them
said by our Lord..
TODAY u will be with me in paradise..

are there any others?

Comments

• well theologically it makes no sense.
    because if god has purgatory then eventually all ppl will be in heaven and if thats true than he never had to die for us which nullifies pretty much EVERYTHING lol
    please someone correct me if i made a mistake, i am not very experienced in catholic theology
  • one of the obvious biblical examples is when Christ told the thief at his right hand that he will be in paradise the same day. Nothing bout having to wait a while in a purgatory place...
  • sorry...what purgatory...(low vocab)
  • it'a a believe in Catholic church they believe that there is a place before u go to heaven where u get purified from the small sins that i think u havn't confesed or the ones that don't make u go to hell
  • yea, like its a place to make up for all the sins you haven't repented for...
  • yea and here's a website if u want 2 take a look:

http://www.4degreez.com/misc/dante-inferno-information.html
  • hi i just know that the story of the rich man and Lazarus (Luke 16: 19-31) also shows that there couldn't have been a purgatory because Abraham said, "And besides all this, between us and you (the rich man in hades) there isa great gulf fixed, so that those who want to pass from here to you cannot, nor can those from there pass to us."
  • who said?
  • who said what?
  • so they said they wwud stop teaching it, but at least now i know what to answer..

???
  • i dunno ???
  • I wonder are there any definitive verses that prove Purgatory existence? All of the biblical evidence given for such a theory seems to relay incidents of God's punishment on earth, but where is the evidence for the existence of such a domian?

George M