How to help someone who is addicted to cigarettes?

edited September 2011 in Personal Issues
Hi everyone, I have been away for a long while, and that's to notice, because..what happened to the old layout?? It really changed. Anyway, no problem. I hope everyone is still alive here?

I am here because i need your help. At least, someone I know needs help.

There is someone in Egypt very close to me and he is addicted to cigarettes. It are rothman cigarettes. I have no any experience or knowledge in this kind of stuff, but I would really appreciate some useful advice.

He tells me that the nicotine get into his blood and that sometimes he feel as if he is going to fall.
Also does he gets headache.

I find it very hard to see him suffering like this, and I wants him to stop. I know that he can stop, because of this verse: "I can do everything through Christ who gives me strength."
Unfortunately, he doesn't trust in himself. I tried to encourage him that he can do it, but I can't give him other practical advice, only thing I can do is prayer.

So the solution is prayers, so I all beg you PLEASE to pray for him (and for everyone who has an addiction) but ALSO to give some practical advice on this issue. How To stop with Smoking? And what can i do from my direction?
Also if anyone has experience with his, please feel free to share it here with us!

Thanks,

GBU

Comments

• Only solution:  the addict must want to go cold turkey.  There is no in between.  There are no medications that work.

He needs loving support.  Lots of prayers.
  • There are medications that work.....depending on which country you live in it might have a different name......talk to your doctor. The physical addiction to nicotine is treatable but it is the psychological addiction that causes most smokers to return to smoking, as it is harder to treat. Treatment for it im guessing would include a lot of prayer,commitment and support from close friends and FOC.
    PPFM