Divorce in the Coptic Church

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Why are many couples allowed to divorce now? Not like right away but in the end after they talk with their priest and Anba Paula, why are they allowed to divorce at all even if there was no adultery? Isn't that stretching the rules a bit?

Comments

• no one really knows what they talk about with Anba Pola so a confession of adultery may have been revealed in that meeting, so who knows really. But i have heard of some couples being divorced with the reason being adultery either. anyone know?
  • everything that happens in that matter is private for those couple and his grace. the rule is the rule....even in bishops will do against it. 
  • but it's getting unorthodox. i am not a marriage expert or anything but i am pretty sure that every divorce can be avoided if both people grow up shwaya. i feel like the Orthodox church is very slowly morphing into the Catholic church....
  • In the Coptic Church there is no divorces unless there is an adultery. Period.
  • [quote author=imikhail link=topic=11331.msg136660#msg136660 date=1303940456]
    In the Coptic Church there is no divorces unless there is an adultery. Period.

So you are saying every couple divorced had someone that committed adultery?
  • If it is really a divorce, then yes.

• There was an interview with HG bishop Paula regarding this matter & he said that the church allows divorce in either of the following:

1. One of the partners committing adultery & ther other partner does not agree to continue the marriage.
    2. One of the partners committing spiritual adultery i.e. leaving Christianity.
    3. If one of the of the partners tricked his partner, e.g. one of the partners had a criminal record but didn't say that before the marriage to the other partner, in this case the church considers this cheating & can allow divorce. Or one of the partners had a very serious disease & didn't talk about it before marriage.