Let this cup pass from me

edited December 1969 in Faith Issues
Im sure you all know what I am about to ask.. Im looking for a real theological explanation for this verse though, I dont want to here "it was his human side talking" we all know that, I want to know what EXACTLY he meant by this, everything our Lord says he has meaning behind it. We all know Jesus CHOSE to go up on the cross, it was his choice, but why do we see here that he prays to the father saying 'if it be possible, let this cup pass from me, never the less, not as I will, but as thou wilt'.

I guess you can say, he meant it was the will of God that he took flesh and allowed himself to be put on the cross for the sake of mankind, but it there a more theological explanation for this?

Comments

• I am no expert but this is what I was told.

The cup that Christ is referring to is the sins of all mankind. This is a very heavy cup that only God Himself could bare, so we need to understand that Christ's humanity was beyond the feeling of grief. We also need to understand that this expression was used by the Jews themselves in times of hardship. It may seem like Christ is asking for this not to happen but in reality, He is anxious to fulfill the will of the Father. He also solidifies this by saying "Yet not what I will, but what You will." So, I guess you can say that the first part of this verse was an expression of the grief and burden of all the sins of man and the wanting for it to be done with. The second part of the prayer shows us that Christ's will is the same as that of the Father's and that they are both One. Hope this helps!

• wow, that does pose an interesting question. the "if it be possible, take this cup away from me," part makes it confusing.

i dont know, maybe it was just a use of language. he knew the cross was the only way, so He's not literally asking the Father "is it possible for me not to bear the cup?" .